Australia Tibet Council

Enabling everyone in Australia to be part of change in Tibet

Tibet Advocacy Day 2016 - Update

Friday, 04 March 2016

TAD2016 groupThe fifth Tibet Advocacy Day in the Australian Parliament this week was a huge success! A big "Thank you" to all the donors who through their support have enabled us to take the Tibetan voice to Canberra.

A group of 15 Tibetans from across Australia, including former political prisoners, community leaders and youth activists, met with around 30 politicians from all sides of politics and presented a compelling case for Tibet.

“The Tibetan environment is not a remote issue, it has global impact and Australia cannot afford to ignore Tibet”.

Together they briefed politicians about the global significance of the Tibetan plateau - the World’s Third Pole, the impacts of climate change in Tibet and China’s misguided policies on environment and development. They asked the politicians to add their names to a joint letter to the Chinese Ambassador, calling on China to end these failed policies in Tibet.

The four former political prisoners who were part of our delegation also held an hour-long meeting with the directors of the China and Human Rights sections of the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade to discuss China’s policies in Tibet.

This heartfelt call by the Tibetans was strongly supported by our politicians. For the first time, a motion on Tibet’s environment was debated in the Australian parliament. In the House, three parliamentarians - Warren Entsch MP, Michael Danby MP and Melissa Parke MP - spoke to this motion. Later in the Senate, Senator Lisa Singh made a passionate speech about the global importance of Tibet’s environment.


Liberal: Senator Linda Reynolds, Senator Dean Smith, Andrew Hastie MP, Teresa Gambaro MP, Craig Kelly MP, Kevin Andrews MP, Sharman Stone MP, Warren Entsch MP, Ann Sudmalis MP

Labor: Gai Brodtmann MP, Senator Catryna Bilyk, Senator Joseph Bullock, Graham Perrett MP, Dr Mike Kelly (Chief of Staff of Bill Shorten MP), David Feenay MP, Matt Thistlethwaite MP, Alannah MacTiernan MP, Mark Dreyfus, Senator Lisa Singh, Laurie Ferguson MP, Michael Danby MP, Melissa Parke MP

Greens: Senator Larissa Waters, Senator Nick McKim

Independent: Andrew Wilkie MP

Click on images to enlarge