2024 Australian Parliamentary Delegation to Dharamsala

In March, 2024 an Australian delegation of Parliamentarians travelled to Dharamsala, India. The delegation included Australian All-Party Parliamentary Group for Tibet (AAPGT) Co-Chair Senator Dean Smith, Senator Deborah O’Neill, David Smith MP and Michael McCormack MP.

The delegation were granted an audience with His Holiness the Dalai Lama, in which they were thanked for their contributions in being a voice for the oppressed around the world.

The Australian delegation along with dignitaries from other countries were also invited to the Tibetan Uprising Day commemoration in McLeod Ganj on 10th March.

Led by ATC, Executive Officer, Dr Zoe Bedford, the delegation were also able to visit the reception centre for new arrivals, escaping from Tibet, where they heard first hand accounts of the torture, surveillance and oppression faced by Tibetans.

The Bipartisan delegation also visited Shugsep Nunnery where they were also attend a World Peace Puja organised by ATC.